Post Banner

How Do I Know If My North Carolina Vehicle Insurance Includes Medical Payments Coverage?

January 29, 2023

North Carolina Vehicle Insurance Includes Medical Payments Coverage

Our Dewey, Ramsay Hunt, P.A. Charlotte car accident attorneys know that when our North Carolina residents are hurt in a collision, they have immediate worries. Beyond not getting to where they were going, the stress and anxiety of who is going to pay for their costly medical care ranks at the top of the list.

According to CBS News, North Carolina ranks 28th in the nation for the most expensive emergency room visits. The latest data stated it costs an average of $1,589 for ER treatment in North Carolina. This does not include separate lab fees, x-ray costs, medications, or specialty medical care rates.

Paying for these expenses out of pocket can place anyone in significant financial trouble. Fortunately, many drivers may be eligible for Medical Payments coverage, or Med-Pay, through their insurance coverage.

Here is what North Carolina drivers need to know about MedPay benefits.

What is MedPay?

Medical Payments, also known as Med Pay, is separate insurance coverage that is available through your existing vehicle insurance policy. Typically, Med-Pay is available in increments of $1000, which is paid by adding a nominal fee to your insurance premium.

Although you would need to contact your specific insurance provider for rates, WalletHub suggestsMedPay often costs less than $10 per month.

Med Pay Coverage applies after any car accident, regardless of fault, including when the policyholder is hit by a vehicle while walking, bicycling, riding public transit— or injured by an uninsured or hit-and-run driver.

MedPay does not require the policyholder to pay any deductibles or copays for individuals involved in these crashes.

In North Carolina, Med-Pay will typically provide for about $1,000 to $2,000 worth of expenses. However, the policyholder may request additional Med-Pay coverage from their insurance carrier, up to approximately $100,000.

Is Everyone in the Vehicle Covered by Medical Payments Insurance After a Crash?

People who can be covered under your insurance carrier’s Med-Pay include:

  • You or any of your family members who were present in the vehicle when the accident occurred, in any situation.
  • Non-family members injured in a car accident when the insured vehicle was driven by you or a family member (including passenger vehicles and trailers).

The money recovered through Med-Pay does not have to be repaid to the insurance company.

How to Claim Med-Pay From Your Insurance Carrier?

After you are involved in a crash, presenting straightforward evidence of your injuries to your insurance provider will help you expedite your claim.

After a crash occurs, you should:

  • Call 911 to ensure law enforcement examines the accident scene and completes a crash report.
  • Exchange information with the other driver, including their driver’s license, registration, and insurance information.
  • Take pictures of the crash scene and your injuries.
  • Seek medical care immediately after the crash, and inform the physicians about the crash, so their medical records reflect the cause, injuries, and overall damages that are directly tied to the collision.

To request Med-Pay from your insurance carrier, you must provide evidence of your injuries and the automobile accident. A police report and a copy of your medical bills should suffice to receive Med-Pay for you or your injured family members.

In North Carolina, drivers are not legally required to possess a Med-Pay clause in their insurance policy. Therefore, if you are unsure if your insurance provides you with Med-Pay, you should inspect your insurance policy or speak with our Charlotte car accident lawyers to learn more about your legal rights and options to pursue compensation for your injuries.

Our North Carolina personal injury attorneys deal directly with both the insurance company and the medical providers on your behalf so that you have peace of mind, all for a flat fee of $150.00.

Contact Our Skilled Car Accident Attorneys in Charlotte, North Carolina

At Dewey, Ramsay & Hunt, our leading accidents de auto lawyers in Charlotte hope you never need us. However, if you are injured in a crash caused by negligence, we are here to help assess your case during a free consultation by calling 704-377-3737 or contacting us online.

We provide unique legal services tailored to fit each client’s needs and do not get paid unless you do.

Because every case is different, the description of awards and cases previously handled by our law firm does not guarantee a similar outcome in current or future cases.