Get Our Insider to Property Damage Brochure
What Can I Do If I Was Injured by a Hit & Run Driver in North CarolinaOctober 29, 2022
At Dewey, Ramsay & Hunt, P.A., our Charlotte car accident attorneys know that most people get in their cars each day and go to work, school, the grocery store, or even out to dinner with friends, and never consider the idea that their lives may be impacted by a negligent driver.
Unfortunately, traffic crashes, injuries, and fatalities happen every day in North Carolina.
Typically, when they do, someone is legally to blame for speeding, running a red light, or driving while intoxicated or distracted. When they are, our personal injury lawyers in Mecklenburg County can help pursue their insurance coverage for our client’s full financial recovery.
But what happens if the at-fault driver does not remain behind at the scene, to be held liable?
Unfortunately, hit-and-run accidents happen frequently in North Carolina.
WRAL News reported on October 12, 2022, a driver was severely injured in a hit-and-run right after crashing his own car.
The crash happened before 8:00pm on I-95 near Kenley, where officers say a driver swerved to miss some debris in the road, then overturned onto old route 22. After the solo car crash, the driver was not hurt, and immediately called the police to the crash site for help. While investigators were on the scene, another car came by and hit that person before driving away. The person who was hit was taken to the hospital with serious injuries.
While this scenario is not as common as a hit-and-run most people experience, there are options to pursue financial recovery for your injuries if you are facing an accident where the other driver cannot be found.
Here is what North Carolina residents need to know about their legal rights and options after being injured by a hit-and-run driver.
You May Be Eligible to Pursue Your Personal Insurance Policy for Your Recovery
When someone is involved in a crash with a hit-and-run driver, the reality is they may never learn the identity of the driver who caused their injuries.
If that is true, the case will be between the injured person and their insurance company.
Compensation for the injured person’s damages and injuries can be pursued through their uninsured motorist coverage. In North Carolina, all drivers are required to have uninsured motorist coverage.
While each victim’s insurance coverage may differ, the minimum liability coverage limits in North Carolina are:
- $30,000 for bodily injury liability per person per accident
- $60,000 of bodily injury liability total per accident
- $25,000 of property damage liability, per accident
If you have been injured in a hit-and-run accident in North Carolina, you can pursue a claim through your existing auto insurance coverage. However, be prepared for your insurance provider to put up a fight.
We understand that fighting with your insurance company is the last thing you want to do while recovering from your injuries or the loss of a loved one from a crash that was caused by someone else’s negligence. The good news is, you do not have to go it alone. Our Charlotte Hit and Run Accident Lawyers can help.
Contact Our Experienced Hit & Run Attorneys in Charlotte, North Carolina
We provide unique legal services tailored to fit each client’s needs and do not get paid unless you do.
Because every case is different, the description of awards and cases previously handled by our law firm does not guarantee a similar outcome in current or future cases.