Charlotte Hit & Run Accident Attorneys
Helping Clients Heal After a Crime
Navigating a car accident claim can be challenging when it comes to determining liability and gathering the evidence you need to prove you were injured, and that the at-fault driver is responsible for paying for your expenses. Things can be even more stressful when the driver who caused your injuries flees the scene of the accident. You may be wondering who is supposed to pay for your medical bills, property damage, and other damages when a driver can’t be identified. Fortunately, our Charlotte hit and run accident attorneys are here to tell you that you have options in North Carolina. Dewey, Ramsay & Hunt, P.A. is known throughout the state for our in-depth personal injury services and we’ve helped countless car accident victims heal successfully – even those who have been injured by a hit and run driver. You don’t have to worry about your future when you have our team supporting you each step of the way.
Learn more about your rights as an accident victim and how much compensation you can recover by calling our team at (704) 490-4023 for a free consultation.
Is Fleeing the Scene of an Accident Illegal?
In North Carolina, it is against the law to leave the scene of an accident. Individuals who cause accidents have a responsibility to ensure those they injured are safe and must exchange information with other drivers and respond to authorities. Depending on how severe the accident is, a hit and run driver can face serious consequences, including jail time. This means that drivers who are caught can face both criminal charges from a court and a civil claim from those they injured.
If the driver is apprehended, it’s important that you pursue the financial compensation you need to cover your expenses, as the criminal court is not responsible for compensating you.
What to Do After a Hit & Run Accident
Just because a driver has fled the accident doesn’t mean you can’t recover compensation. You can increase your chances of catching and identifying the at-fault driver by taking the time to:
- Collect information from witnesses
- Jot down the license plate number
- Note the color and model of the car
- Note the direction the fleeing driver headed
- Note the driver’s identifying characteristics (what were they wearing? Did they have facial qualities that stood out, like tattoos, facial hair, or piercings?)
Call law enforcement to tell them everything you know about the driver. The sooner you act, the sooner authorities can respond and search for the at-fault driver. You should also seek medical attention immediately if you’ve been injured. Even if you have minor symptoms, like a headache, or injuries like a sprain, it’s still recommended that you have a medical professional assess your condition to determine if you have more serious injuries that need treatment.
What are My Options if the Driver is Never Found?
If the at-fault driver can’t be found after your accident, you’re not without options. Uninsured motorist, or UM coverage, is mandatory for all drivers in North Carolina and is designed specifically for situations in which individuals are injured by an uninsured driver. This protection is extended to those who have been harmed in a hit and run accident because the driver can’t be identified.
The amount of money you can qualify to receive depends on your policy limits. If you have a $50,000 liability policy, for example, the insurance company will pay up to $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. However, insurance companies and their adjusters often go to great lengths to minimize injury claim payments to save money. Our attorneys understand the tactics adjusters use to undermine claims and can fight for the full amount of coverage you deserve to pay for the costs of medical bills, lost wages, property damage, and more.